Opting Out in NY

There has been wonderful information shared on the Opt Out of the Standardized Tests – New York Facebook page regarding a memo from NYSED that explains the 95% participation “rule”. Folks have also been discussing their RIGHTS as parents to opt their children OUT of high stakes testing.

As a teacher, I wonder when what happened in New York City last year will happen to me. My picture and my “teacher rating score” published in a local newspaper declaring I am the worst teacher in Western NY.

At this very moment, information about NY’s PUBLIC school children – demographics, test scores, BMI, parents, academic record, and disciplinary records are being sent to Albany without parental consent.

It seems in NY, there are NO provisions to OPT OUT of anything relating to education. Privacy of students, teachers, principals and parents isn’t honored. Big government has their hands all over information that, honestly, I cannot discuss with colleagues because of its confidential nature. The exams that are given to students in NY are not transparent. Teachers who give state exams sign a “pledge” stating that they won’t discuss the test contents with anyone.

There is, apparently, one area in which NY State allows opting-out. That area is pistol permit information. This is the pistol permit opt-out form for Erie County. This form allows citizens who hold pistol permits to have their personal information kept confidential and NOT shared should a media source request such information.

I am not here to start a gun ownership debate. I do find it interesting that this is the area that NYS has, in all its wisdom, decided should NOT be FOILable. My teacher evaluation score, along with my name and address are NOT protected like this. My students’ privacy is NOT protected in this manner. Information is sent electronically to Albany and who knows where else WITHOUT parental consent.Does anyone besides me find it a little disconcerting to know that someone in Albany could be looking at my children’s test scores or body mass index without my knowledge or consent?  If the privacy of adults is to be honored in regard to gun ownership, then why isn’t the public screaming that the privacy of CHILDREN be honored as well?

Leave a Reply

